Furies UNfiltered: Amanda Trowell

Furies UNfiltered brings you artists whose submissions were not screened in any way. The features are edited for grammar and spelling. Otherwise, these creatives sent in their own interview answers, their own links, and their own pictures.

_MG_3653When did you get your start as an artist?

My mom inspired me at a young age to be creative. I’ve been creating for as long as I can remember.

Is art hereditary in your family?

Somewhat. My mom is very creative, and my sister. That’s about it.

Do you force yourself to work or do you wait for inspiration?

A little bit of both. I think sometimes we all have to force it to meet deadlines, but we wait to the last minute for it to come to us.

Where do you turn when you’re lacking inspiration? 

I try to draw from every source that speaks to me. Time alone in nature is a big help. Looking at other artist’s work that I love and I also use a few specific websites such as PetaPixle.com and At-Edge.com.

What type of music do you like to listen to when you’re working?

A little of everything. Pandora Radio is the best for my wide range of musical taste and is usually playing while I’m shooting.

Jordan11What is your workspace like?

My own work space is in my very small Nashville apartment for now. My whole space is covered in creative inspiration and tools/props to use when shooting.

What do you need to focus?

I need to be alone, or at least have a good amount of alone time. Plus some jamming music to help drive my energy.

Has your work ever interfered with your personal life?

Wait…those are two different things? I eat, sleep, and breath photography.

_MG_4427-Edit

What current projects are you working on?

I’m in school so right now a lot of time is being spent on final semester projects. I just bought a set of lights so I’ve also been doing a lot of experimental work with them.

What are your future plans?

My biggest plan for the future is to graduate with my Bachelor’s of Photography and Videography and then I intend on going on to higher level of education. Closer future plans are to get my work seen everywhere. I want to be in galleries, magazines, anything! It’s time to get my name out there.

Be sure to follow Amanda on facebook and twitter

Say stuff and stuff